Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis announces final 23-woman squad for 2022 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations.

20 June 2022 – Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has announced the final 23-woman squad to represent South Africa at the Africa Women’s Cup of nations in Morocco from 2-23 July 2022.

The coach also
announced three players who will be on the standby list.

Speaking at the
press conference on Monday afternoon, the coach was full of praise for the Hollywoodbets
coaches for the work they have done in keeping the players fit. She further
praised the players for the effort they displayed during the local
preparation/selection camp.

The Banyana
Banyana coach said selecting the final squad for the tournament was a difficult
task for the technical team.

“I want to
start off by giving a big thank to the coaches out there for the fantastic job
that they have done since the leagues have started,” said Ellis.

“We had a good
week and a half and with many of the overseas based players joining us, many
have stepped up. We had a good mix of youth and experience for the past week
and half.”

Nozipho Mbatha, Sasol
Senior Manager: Group Brand and Sponsorship Manager, expressed her excitement
about Banyana Banyana representing the country in the AWCON.

“I congratulate each
player called up for this significant national duty. We have seen how these
ladies have worked hard during their campaign to qualify for this important
tournament, and each selected player deserves to be part of the squad.

“We are grateful
for the team to have made it to this point. I implore them to go out there and
play their hearts out because Sasol, and other legions of fans will be watching
them closely and cheering them on from home. As a South African, I want them to
bring that cup home and secure that place to be a part of the FIFA Women’s
World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in 2023.”

Banyana Banyana Final Squad:


  • Andile Dlamini
  • Kaylin Swart
  • Regirl Ngobeni


  • Karabo Dhlamini
  • Lebohang Ramalepe
  • Janine Van Wyk
  • Bambanani Mbane
  • Bongeka Gamede
  • Noko Matlou


  • Refiloe Jane
  • Nomvula Kgoale
  • Linda Motlhalo
  • Thalea Smidt
  • Kholosa Biyana
  • Amogelang Motau
  • Robyn Moodaly
  • Sibulele Holweni


  • Jermaine Seoposenwe
  • Melinda Kgadiete
  • Noxolo Cesane
  • Nthabiseng Majiya
  • Thembi Kgatlana
  • Hildah Magaia

Standby players:

  1. Kebotseng Moletsane
  2. Tiisetso Makhubela
  3. Thubelihle Shamase

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.